Kabul-Afghanistan (PMG):

Reporter: Shaker Sangi

Sources in the Independent Election Commission (IEC) say that Hawa Alam Nuristani has been elected by the majority of votes as the head of the Afghan Independent Election Commission (IEC). This source, who was speaking in condition of anonymity told Pasbanan Media group, that Esmatullah Mal has been appointed as the deputy and Musafir Qoqandi was elected as secretary of the Independent Election Commission. Meanwhile, reports indicate that Zohra Bayan Shenwari has been selected as the head of the Electoral Complaints Commission by newly appointed Commissioners.

One day ago newly appointed Election Commissioners officially held their inauguration ceremony on the presidential palace in the presence of president Ghani. Meanwhile, the US ambassador to Kabul had asked the newly appointed commissioners of Electoral commissions, that after the change in the leadership of these two electoral bodies, it is now the time for the members of these two commissions to work seriously for transparency and reform; so that the lost trust of the Afghan citizens should remain on these commissions.

Developed by Nethub


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *